Automatically purge old DocumentDB data with ‘Time to Live’

Apr 28, 2016   |   Thomas Kohnstamm

Traditionally, deleting older Azure DocumentDB data required users to write their own logic to retrieve the records and then execute a delete statement per each document in the set.

With the addition of “Time to Live” (TTL), Azure DocumentDB provides the ability to automatically purge stored data from the system. By setting the TTL property of a document, customers can control exactly when documents will be deleted.

In addition to simplifying the process of purging old data, TTL also makes capacity planning easy.

Read more on the Microsoft Azure blog.

Thomas Kohnstamm
Microsoft News Center Staff