Fraud alert: “Your account will be deleted”

A reader of this blog recently received the following suspicious email:

“This Email is from Hotmail Customer Care. We are having congestions due to the anonymous registration of Hotmail accounts so we are shutting down some Hotmail accounts and your account was among those to be deleted. We are sending this email to you so that you can verify and let us know if you still want to use this account.

Due to the congestion in all Hotmail users and removal of all unused Hotmail Accounts, Hotmail would be shutting down all unused accounts. You will have to confirm your E-mail by filling out your Login Info below after clicking the reply button or your account will be suspended within 24 hours for security reasons.”

This email is a scam. It did not come from Microsoft. If you reply with personal information, you could become a victim of ID theft.

If you receive an email like this, delete it. If you already responded with your personal information, read Hotmail hacked? Take these steps.

The newest version of Hotmail allows you to associate your account with your cell phone number so that you can get back into your account if it’s been compromised. To read more about this feature, see Three new Hotmail security features we love.

For more tips, see

About the Author
Eve Blakemore

Group Manager, Trustworthy Computing

Eve Blakemore is a Group Manager for Trustworthy Computing who delivers consumer guidance around the latest trends in security and privacy. Eve joined Microsoft in 1998 and has worked in corporate and field roles with Microsoft Learning, US Public Sector, Read more »

Join the conversation

2 comments
  1. Anonymous

    I received this also and wanted to report it as fraud. Perhaps you could provide a link from hotmail to check out suspicious e-mails that are known?  Is this site it?

  2. Anonymous

    Windows Live Customer Care ™ <anarchistbanjo@live.com>

    On 17/07/2011 1:19, Windows Live Customer Care ™ wrote:

    >

    > Windows Live Hotmail

    >

    > Dear Account User,

    >

    >

    > This message is from our data base center to all free Hotmail account owners. We are currently upgrading our data base and e-mail account center. We are deleting all unused accounts to create more space for new accounts. To prevent your account from closing, you will have to update it below so we will know that it's a presently used account. To do this, You have to click on your reply button to reply back to this message and then you fill the information below.

    >

    > User name:………………………..

    > Password :

    > …………………………

    > Date of Birth :

    > ……………………

    > Country/Territory:

    > ……………..

    > Country Or Territory :

    > …………

    >

    >  

    > Play audio and enter the 10 numbers you hear.

    > Image with 8 characters

    > Characters:

    >

    > Enter the 8 characters you see

    >

    >

    >

    > Warning!!! Account owner that fails to verify his/her account after 24 hours of receiving this warning will lose his or her account permanently.

    >

    > Sincerely,

    > The Windows Live Hotmail Team

    > Windows Live ID

Comments are closed.